“It is in your head”

Anyone with Fibromyalgia or a Chronic Pain Condition that is not readily visible has heard this.

However, what if Fibromyalgia was a mental problem?
 

How many expletives have come to your mind, after reading that? 

As someone who has heard this phrase a lot, and come across the outside opinion that it is a mental problem, I am challenging you to let down your protests, guards, and preconceptions and simply be open to what I am saying.

Of course all those who have Fibromyalgia experience the breath catching pain, and all the symptoms that come with Fibro, that is not a figment of the imagination or a cry for attention. I am offering the perspective of the wholistic side.

One believes that physical problems, pain, diseases can be a result of a mental cause, negativity, not expressing yourself, or holding on to emotions like resentment, judgment, guilt, anger, hate, and fear to name a few. When these are not dealt with, let go, and instead are being held onto it can have a physical effect. If your mind, spirit wants you to deal with something, want you to change a part of your life that will improve it, or help you see what is not in your best interest the easiest and most effective way to get your attention is to give you physical pain or a physical problem.

I will give myself as an example; my greatest pain was in the pelvic region, and hip area. From the first time I had excruciating menstrual pain that only increased when I had Fibromyalgia. Every Doctor had told me it is part of nature, offered medications, or breathing exercises. At times some did offer relief, when the Fibro was present none helped. I spoke to a Doctor (believed in a more natural side of healing, and medication should be a temporary solution not a long term crutch) who actually went through my case history and after an hour or so, history completed, asked if I had ever looked at the hip pain and sexual abuse that had occurred when I was younger. I was stunned, this was an issue I avoided, never talked about, and considered it part of my past. After bringing it up and speaking about it, dealing with it, and letting it go, along with the guilt I still felt and resentment, the pain was gone. To this day it is gone. I have seen this in more individuals than I thought possible.

Some will say “oh that was an extreme case”, “I wasn’t sexually abused”,and so on. I am not going to convert the world, and am not trying to, I simply want you to stop and think. 

The guilt you feel for the condition you are in and not being able to do/live how you want. The anger you have for the relationship you are in and not able to get out. The anger you feel at others for saying insensitive comments, or not getting the help or understanding you want from your family and loved ones. The resentment you have for watching others do what you want. These are just a few. Even if you do not believe that your physical issues are not mentally caused, think about the effect these now have on your body in the present.

There are many books, you can even google it that will tell you what the mental cause of a pain is. One of the most popular books is “Heal Your Body” by Louise L. Hay. In it she has the mental cause for the physical problem, along with a positive affirmation. There are two I will share with you. The first;

Chronic Diseases; A refusal to change. Fear of the future. Not feeling safe.
The affirmation: I am willing to change and to grow. I now create a safe, new future.

The second;

Pain; Guilt. Guilt always seeks punishment.
The affirmation: I lovingly release the past. They are free and I am free. All is well in my heart now.

For some this will resonate, for others it will not.

Should you choose to take a look at this, do not think if you say these two things and do not deal with what is causing the guilt, fear, or other issues you will become pain free. It is a journey that opens many doors once one has been opened.

Whether you believe there is a mental cause, a physical cause to Fibro, you need to be healthy on all aspects to function at the highest level. The only way to do that is to truly be honest within yourself, take responsibility and change what you want and need to change. The hardest, but most rewardingtask you will go through. 
 




Leave a Reply.